Just another rainy day? Not really…

CLIQUEZ ICI POUR LIRE L’ARTICLE EN FRANÇAIS !

Once upon a time a rainy day in Belgium. Wait… Isn’t this common sense? Let me start again. Once upon a time a very special rainy day in Belgium, in Antwerp precisely. A day where even the rain couldn’t stop people from celebrating the arrival of summer drinking Lipton Ice Tea in deckchairs and listening to good music. A day even more special to me because that was the day I met my favourite band ever: the Plain White T’s.

29.03.15. When I arrived in Felix Pakhuis, a restaurant converted in a venue, the guys were making the sound check. Tom recognized me, I couldn’t believe it! (That means that I look like my profile picture, which is a great compliment.)

Then the band took a seat, I myself took a deep breath – because I am shy as hell – and I went to give them some Belgian chocolate. I feared I could be disturbing them but they really put me at ease, especially Tom, who remembered I had a blog and was asking me questions from where I come from to what is my favourite movie, like if I was the interviewee and he was the interviewer. That’s a shame because I study English and I was unable to express myself in front of native speakers… Tom told me I could ask them anything but, of course, no question came to my mind at that time (now I have plenty). Next time, I’ll have to bring a list of questions, I think. But whatever, that was great!

pic

Favourite pic ever! You can click on the pics of the post to enlarge.

Then was the show. It was awesome because they played both classics I could sing along to as well as songs I’d never heard before. I was very happy to hear Hate, Hey There Delilah or Rhythm of Love live, and the new songs made me even more impatient for their new album. It seems like Stay is going to be my next favorite one… One more time, it striked me how much their songs are catchy and very different from each other. In a few songs, the band managed to cheer up the audience and to set a summer atmosphere.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then Tom came to ask me if I had fun. How couldn’t I? We take some more pictures,  and their manager gave me the setlist of the show!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Really, I couldn’t have dreamt of something better for my first Plain White T’s show.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

‘American Nights’ is coming out tomorrow and is available to preorder here. Meanwhile you can listen to the future summer hit ‘Pause’ (music video here!) and to the playlist I made of my recordings of yesterday show. Hope you’ll like it!

To conclude this post, I really want to thank the band for their availibility, for the amazing show, for the pictures, for the hugs and handshakes and for how nice they are to their fans. That’s great to be able to like some artists for their music and for who they are!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

P.S. you didn’t get the reference of the title? Click here!

3 réflexions au sujet de « Just another rainy day? Not really… »

Laisser un commentaire

